Happy Wednesday!

Recently I had the opportunity to sit down with the Marketing Director of Pipe Dreams Studio Theatre, Jaymeson Welker Metz. Jaymeson is a senior Acting major here at Millikin where he’s in constant involvement in campus activities. Luckily, he had a few minutes to sit down with me and talk with me about his position at Pipe Dreams Studio Theatre.

Q: As a performance major, why were you interested in being Marketing Director at Pipe Dreams Studio Theatre?

A: Well, I’ve been at Pipe Dreams since the very beginning of my career at Millikin University. In the past, I’ve really enjoy creating websites. I’ve done them as a kid. I actually had a little Zelda webpage when I was younger, like thirteen or so. So I ran that and had some people who viewed the website and I just really enjoyed doing that. So last semester I worked as web master for PDST and I also created the videos for the shows. For this semester, I just thought that it would be really interesting to reach other people and step up my game. Basically just take the extra step and try and develop skills that I can use in the future to start my own business. But at the bottom of it I just love Pipe Dreams and wanted to help in whatever way I could.

Q: What are some of the challenges of the position?

A: The challenges I think, of any position, is coming in and jumping into the position. I also think the challenge is with marketing to a community that already has many theatrical outlets and trying to offer them something, it’s very different than anything else and making people understand that.

Q: What’s your favorite part about the position?

A: The potential to interact one-on-one with people. I think we haven’t realized that potential because we are scared too but when we do it is a lot of fun because of that one-on-one interaction.

Q: Why should other students on campus get involved in Pipe Dreams?

A: Because we need more marketing help! We need new people. We have a lot of the same people filter in and out of Pipe Dreams and I think new people will help us get the word out. Right now we’re sort of in our own little circle.

Q: You’ve performed in Pipe Dreams, you’ve been the web master, and now you’re the Marketing Director. What are the things you’re going to take away from all your experiences and how are you going to apply that to your later endeavors because you graduate in six weeks!

A: Well, I love Pipe Dreams. As a performer I’ll take away all the different ways we’ve done shows in Pipe Dreams. Sometimes they’re minimalistic, sometimes they’re experimental, they’ve been original, and they’ve been non-original. As a Marketing Director I think it will help me as my own business where I think I understand how to reach out to potential clients which would be our patrons. The real world experience of it too, how there’s nothing really to fall back on. It’s not like I have this thing where if it falls through, whatever I’m still going to survive. But it’s the experience of the class where we make money and if we don’t we have to face consequences and cut backs so the stakes are much higher. It’s also just a lot of fun. I started out doing something I loved and I felt really good about it and then I moved on to something that was a bit more challenging and I moved on and I learned thing I really like and things I didn’t like. Simply put, it was a great learning experience.

Q: Season submission ends this Friday for Pipe Dreams, what show would you most like to see put up in Pipe Dreams? Assume no budget and a casting pool of the entire world.

A: The Fantasticks. Someone threw that out once and that’s my favorite show.

If you have any further questions for Jaymeson contact him at jmetz@millikin.edu. Since Jaymeson is graduating, you could be PDST’s new Marketing Director! Pipe Dreams is now Interviewing for the Artistic Team! Interviews are currently being scheduled. Interview times are as follows: Wednesday, 3/28 10:00a-12:00p and 3:00p-5:00p Thursday, 3/29 2:00p-3:00p. To schedule an interview, please submit your interview form and resume along with your availability during those time frames to me via email at sbubenik@millikin.edu no later than 5p on Monday.

If you are interested in taking the Pipe Dreams class but, aren’t sure if you are ready for artistic team, please come to one of our info sessions Thursday, 3/22 at 3:30p in Shilling 319 or email sbubenik@millikin.edu. There are also plenty of staff positions to be had.

-Jane Davis

